Keeping track of your Form 8606 IRA Cost Basis


I’ve been tracking the cost basis of my traditional IRAs for many years now and thought I would share how and why I do this in Money, in case you might want to add this useful financial data yourself.  I’m referring to the I.R.S. Form 8606 IRA cost basis, the calculation of which is completely separate from the actual Cost Basis of the individual investments within an investment account (which Money keeps track of on it’s own) and is defined as follows:

Add up all of your nondeductible contributions to all of your traditional IRA accounts to date. Subtract any previous nondeductible contributions that you’ve already removed from those IRA accounts. The result is your IRA basis.

This is how it shows up in my Portfolio Manager screen (click image to enlarge)…

ira
click to enlarge

and it fluctuates each year in which you file Form 8606, to reflect a non-deductible contribution, conversion or distribution to/from your IRA accounts, so several years of inactivity could go by, before you realize that you’re in need of the current amount once again.  Until you’ve drained your last dollar out of all of your traditional IRA accounts, you won’t be done needing your current calculated cost basis.  This hopefully will be a few retirement decades later (unless you convert all of your traditional IRA account holdings to Roth IRA accounts).

I use H&R Block software to do my taxes, and I’m pretty sure it carries over the basis from year-to-year, but Turbo Tax apparently has a flaw in the software, causing it to silently discard the transferred-in basis information if you inadvertently answer NO, when asked if you made any nondeductible traditional IRA contributions.  Once discarded, the historical information is gone.  The only way to recover the information is to either manually re-enter the amount, or to start the tax return over and transfer in the historical information again.

Although you are required to save your most recently filed Form 8606, I find it much more convenient to keep a history of my TradIRA Cost Basis, and refer to that when the need arises.  As to why –  why not?  We track everything else that involves our finances, and Money makes it easy to view everything in our Portfolio review screens.  As you can see below, I haven’t taken a distribution from (or made an after-tax contribution to) any of my traditional IRA accounts since 2013 (you can’t get thousands of ObamaCare premiums subsidy dollars, if you increase your income with taxable money), so by the time I’ll finally need it again, my Cost Basis might otherwise be difficult to locate.

If you are younger than 59½, you should also keep track of your RothIRA Cost Basis, in case you find it necessary to make a sizable “early” withdrawal from one or more of your Roth accounts.

All you need to do is add the cost basis into your Watch account by creating a dummy transaction with zero shares of your Cost Basis “investment”…

ira cost basis

and then select “Update prices > Manually” (first choice in the left column of the Portfolio manager screen) every year that the amount changes.

ira

The memo field in the Portfolio screen is not the transaction memo, but rather the “Investment Details” memo, which in this case is:

✅ because my TradIRA accounts have a cost basis > $0, Form 8606 is used to prorate the non-taxable distribution amounts


Keeping Track of Your Tax Brackets

[added 11/29/2022]
The aforementioned process works well for any other notes important to you.  For instance, keeping track of your taxable income brackets right there on your Portfolio screen, while doing your financial planning…

taxable income brackets

-ameridan

4 thoughts on “Keeping track of your Form 8606 IRA Cost Basis”

  1. Interesting. It sounds useful for those who made after-tax contributions. You could maybe make that investment a money market fund so as to have a fixed $1 price when you then Sell or RemoveShares when you take a distribution.

    I wonder if there would be any advantage or disadvantage to there being an associated cash account for this watch account. With no cash account, the Account Value at the bottom of the register would reflect the current basis.

    Playing with this some more, I in to a non-watch IRA account, Itried creating basis shares and did an AddShares with $0 price. I could RemoveShares. I could Sell for $0. This is less convenient to check the running basis, because I had to go to the Investment Analysis or Portfolio to see the basis. An advantage is that to see the basis in the Portfolio, I did not have to ChangePortfolioView-❯ShowWatchAccounts

    Like

    1. Just like my FICO scores, I prefer to keep it zero shares of “Other” investment, and just adjust the price as required. See added illustrations in the article. Don’t forget, the basis is for all of your traditional IRA accounts combined, so you might find it confusing to have it only showing up in one of your IRA accounts.

      As you can see, I get value from always displaying Watch Accounts in my Portfolio Manager screen.

      Like

    2. Cal,

      I’m not sure I fully comprehend your comment yet, but today I’ve just realized that there is a Money tax category for “IRA Cost Basis at the beginning of the year”, so that the value should flow into the tax software automatically, rather than the manual method I’m using, and perhaps that is what you were trying to relay to me? I guess a dummy transaction in the Watch account could be used to enter/alter the value each time it changes on Form 8606, but I think I’ll stick to my method regardless. I have a feeling it wouldn’t carry over into years that were missing the dummy transaction due to IRA inactivity, which is really the main reason I had developed my method.

      Like

Leave a comment