Version 2 of my Money Webpage addin is now available


Version 2 is now available!

click for larger image
Version 2 of ameridan’s OFFLINE webpage addon to Money

If you would like to be able to run your Offline update scripts (PocketSense) from within your Microsoft Money program while also viewing the new quotes.htm file that is produced  everytime you update your quotes, I’m sharing the new page (along with easy installation instructions) that I’ve developed for just this purpose. Since the Money GUI is really just a customized browser, this is probably the only way modules can be added to the program without hacking into the source code.     I would also like to point out that everytime the quotes are updated throughout the day, the quotes.htm page is updated, even though the newer values are ignored within the Money program.     And this page will also show Last Closing Price as well as Percent change in price since the last closing price!  Thanks Robert!

To greatly simplify installation (it was confusing if your PC setup didn’t happen to be setup just so), I’ve created  4  different versions of the webpage for you (2 for WinXP and 2 for WinVista and Win7) and you’ll simply use the one that works properly.  🙂

To install…

  1. Go to the folder on your hard drive that you’ve installed PocketSense (version published on or after February 16, 2011) into
  2. Download my webage add-in and extract the Images folder and the 4 htm files into this same folder as the scripts 
  3. Right click on getdata.py and select Create Shortcut
  4. Right click on setup.py and select Create Shortcut
  5. Click on one of the 4 webpages (and don’t rename them): GetOfxDataXP(1).htm, GetOfxDataXP(2).htm, GetOfxData7(1).htm or GetOfxData7(2).htm  which will open it in your browser.  Although all four versions look the same, only one will have links to getdata and setup that actually work. If you want a detailed explanation of the differences, see the 3/19/2010 notes in the Version 1 Blog: https://microsoftmoneyoffline.wordpress.com/2010/02/25/webpage-add-in-run-pocketsense-from-within-the-money-program/  
  6. If the link(s) to GetData.py  and Setup.py work, then Copy the address from the Address Bar (Highlight it and right-click and select Copy). B1inUK offers this tip for WinVista and Win7 users: You may have to Right-click the htm file, select Properties and click Unblock at the bottom to allow the links to work.
  7. Open Money and Paste that address (or type the full path to the htm file) into Money’s address bar ( as an example, my path is: C:\Documents and Settings\Dan’s\My Documents\Microsoft Money\Python Scripts\GetOfxDataXP(1).htm ) and hit Enter (or click on the GoTo button).
  8. Select Favorites, Add to Favorites, and type in a name for your Favorite page (like GetOfxData), then click OK

  9. You’re done; whenever you wish to access the scripts from within Money – either click on Favorites, Favorite Web Sites, and then GetOfxData OR select the file in the address bar and hit Enter (or the GoTo button)
  10. ENJOY Microsoft Money OFFLINE!!
[ADDED 3/26/2011] I prefer the font size in the quotes window to be somewhat smaller and this is how that is accomplished: In quotes.htm the font size within the quotes table is controlled in line 64 of rlib.py (change 16px to perhaps 14px). I also prefer the font-size for the comments at 10, rather than 13, which you can change on line 57. The next time you run PocketSense, the generated quotes.htm will reflect the changes you’ve made and and be sure to make a backup copy of rlib.py after you’ve tweaked it, so that you’ll be able to apply your changes after downloading updates in the future.

table {
text-align: center;
font-family: Verdana;
font-weight: normal;
font-size: 16px;
border: 2px solid gray;
border-collapse: collapse;
empty-cells: show
}

 

-ameridan

 

17 Comments »

  1. Mike said

    Nothing created when running ameridan_create_webpage.py? A cmd window pops up and then closes. Ran in command window and got

    C:\Money\MoneySense>ameridan_create_webpage.py
    File “C:\Money\MoneySense\ameridan_create_webpage.py”, line 128
    SyntaxError: Non-ASCII character ‘\xa9’ in file C:\Money\MoneySense\ameridan_create_webpage.py on line 129, but no encoding declared; see http://www.python.org/peps/pep-0263.html for details

  2. ameridan said

    Thanks for trying out the new package Mike. It seems to be crashing because of the copyright symbol, although I don’t know why.

    Mike, try something for me – right click on the file and select Edit with PythonWin and hit the GO button (looks like PLAY). That is how I actually ran the file, and if that works, I’ll revise my instructions.

    Mike, I just uploaded a new package with the webpages already created, since the shortcut links apparently don’t need the full path, so give it another whirl…

  3. Andy said

    The Yahoo quotes aren’t appearing within the page. I see the standard html error: “This program cannot display the webpage.” The other shortcuts work. Thank you,

    • Andy said

      Oops. Duh. No quotes.htm file. How do I get that?

  4. ameridan said

    Andy,

    Thanks for trying it out! Please note in Step 1, I stated:

    1.Go to the folder on your hard drive that you’ve installed PocketSense at (version published on or after February 16, 2011).

    that this was for the new version of PocketSense. Perhaps I should add a dummy quotes.htm file with a note to that effect also. 🙂

    I know that Robert states that the newest version of PocketSense is “Beta”, but it appears to be better than the latest “Release” version and I expect him to publish it very soon as a Release version.

  5. Mike said

    Removing the copyright symbol solved that problem. I tried your included webpages and the quotes do not appear (the area where they should be is blank). They do with the generated htm files. I did a quick compare and the two sets of files do have several differences. I can send you a copy of the ones my system generated if that would help.

    I am using a XP system. I see no differences between the four generated html files when I execute them — should I?

    The fonts quotes on the html files that work are too large and require scroll bars to be used. Where in the html file can that be modified?

    My Money system has Add Favorites grayed out. Any ideas on how to turn them back on?

  6. ameridan said

    Mike,

    I took the version off that used a Python script to generate the htm files since, as you reported, they didn’t work as expected in the non-windows version AND it was just as easy to supply the files themselves.

    Although all four versions look the same, only one will have links to getdata and setup that actually work. If you want a detailed explanation of the differences, see the 3/19/2010 notes in the Version 1 Blog: https://microsoftmoneyoffline.wordpress.com/2010/02/25/webpage-add-in-run-pocketsense-from-within-the-money-program/

    In quotes.htm the font size within the quotes table is controlled in line 64 of rlib.py (change 16px to perhaps 14px). I also prefer the font-size for the comments at 10, rather than 13, which you can change on line 57.

    table {
    text-align: center;
    font-family: Verdana;
    font-weight: normal;
    font-size: 16px;
    border: 2px solid gray;
    border-collapse: collapse;
    empty-cells: show
    }

    When the webpage (or a report) is displayed within Money, the Add Favorites option should no longer be grayed out.

  7. ameridan said

    Mike,

    Thanks for the detailed email. Could you email the htm file that didn’t work?

    Regarding the Add to Favorites…

    Send results to Money — y and exit

    does not replace Steps 5 thru 8, it simply updates the quote prices in your Dummy Account. To add my page into Money, follow Steps 5 thru 8.

  8. Mike said

    I have Python 2.7 installed; do not know if that makes a difference? I had not tested far enough; only one of the htm files works to link to the shortcut (XP1). I have sent you an email with screen dumps of what I am seeing.

    I was not pasting the path into the Money GoToPage — never had used it before. Now when I click I get the GetOfxData page; then click the download and import data link I get the Open popup.

    Pretty slick. Thank you for taking the time to do this!

  9. Mike said

    Both files sent – one works and one does not.

  10. Ken said

    This is a sort of related question. I have several links that appear in the address bar when I use the drop down box. Do you know any way to clean out the history? It’s a very minor point but I’ve been unable to figure out how to get rid of old links I don’t want to appear. Thanks.

  11. ameridan said

    Ken,

    Should be quite easy as I found the history in my Registry { Start >Run > Regedit } at HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Money\17.0\URLHist and you can simply delete the entries you no longer want to appear. (I don’t advocate playing around in the registry, but I feel it is safe in this instance.)


    Sidenote…
    Kind of a good way to learn the “shortcuts” to some of Money’s pages too – you’ll see the actual link to pages that you’ve visited recently. In fact here is a list of other shortcuts (from Money 2005 era, so they might not all work now) that you can type into Money’s GoTo address bar courtesy of Glyn Simpson ( http://money.mvps.org/articles/browser_shortcuts.aspx ):

    Money Location Link
    Money Home money://navigate/contents
    See my account balances money://navigate/AcctManager
    Manage scheduled bills and deposits money://navigate/PayBills
    Forecast my cash flow money://navigate/CashFlow
    View bills and deposits calendar money://navigate/BillCalendar
    Review recent bills and reposits money://navigate/billhistory
    Set up a new account money://tool/NewAccount
    Organize favorites money://processstart/acctfavoritesclose/other/1
     
    View my categories money://navigate/Lists/Cat/-1
    Manage my payees money://navigate/Lists/Pay/-1
     
    Investing Home money://area/Investments
    View my portfolio money://navigate/Portfolio
    Review my portfolio money://navigate/InvAnalysis
    Alerts Center money://navigate/alertcenter
    Manage online services money://navigate/OnlineServices
     
    View my lifetime plan money://navigate/GoalsWelcome
    Lifetime planner – about you money://navigate/GoalsAboutYouLt
    View my budget money://navigate/Budget
    Budget versus Spending report money://navigate/BudgetVsSpending
    Create a debt reduction plan money://navigate/DebtIntro
    Play what-if with cash flow money://navigate/CashFlowWhatIf
    See how an event affects my finances money://navigate/ScenBuilderGoal
     
    Associate tax lines with categories money://navigate/TaxLineManager
    See a report money://navigate/ReportGallery
    View my monthly report money://navigate/MonthlyReport
    Monthly Reports money://navigate/ReportArea/Other/6
    Business reports money://navigate/ReportGallery/Business
    Organize favorites money://navigate/ReportGallery/Other/-1/0
     
    View my home inventory money://processstart/HomeInventory
    Go to the Credit Centre money://navigate/CreditCenter
     
    Back up my Money file money://tool/backup
    Use the calculator money://tool/calculator
    Download quotes,  news and updates money://tool/connectall
    Print cheques money://tool/printchecks
    Enter a transaction money://navigate/AcctManager
    Record a bill or deposit money://navigate/PayBills
     
    Internet  
    Go to MSN.co.uk money://MCLink/MSNHome
    Go to MSN Shopping money://MCLink/MSNShop
    Go to MSN Money money://MCLink/MSNMoneyCentral
    Hotmail money://MCLink/MSNHotmail
    MSN Search money://MCLink/MSNSearch
    People & Chat money://MCLink/MSNCommunities
    MSN Property money://MCLink/HomeAdvisor
    MSN Cars money://MCLink/CarpointAtMSN
    Careers money://MCLink/MSNCareers
    Travel money://MCLink/ExpediaOnMSN
    Top Funds money://MCLink/fundfinder
    Stock Screener money://MCLink/stockscreener
    Research Wizard money://MCLink/researchwiz
       
    US Only  
    Tax Estimator money://navigate/worksheettax
    Deduction finder money://processstart/taxdedfinderwelcome
    Tax withholding estimator money://navigate/taxwithholdingestimator
    Capital gains estimator money://processstart/capitalgainsestimator
    401k Manager money://navigate/401k
       
    UK Only  
    Update my Will money://navigate/UKWillGuide
    Track my savings money://navigate/UKSavingsAbout
  12. Chris said

    Would it be possible to alter the size Web page window that displays the quotes browses to other sites? (Or make the size user definable).

    I have been using Roberts pocket sense scripts for some time and finally integrated them into my money program. First time success and I like being able to invoke the python scripts from within money. The size of the browser window however keeps me from actually wanting to use the quotes html page from within windows.

  13. ameridan said

    Chris,

    Thanks for the feedback – I added the requested instructions to the Blog to make it easier for others to find. 🙂

    See the addendum to the blog that I just added where I describe how to make the font-sizes smaller so that they fit the window better (as I have also done). When you get your tweaks done, make a backup of the rlib1.py file so that whenever you update your package, you’ll be able to customize that file again.

    • Chris said

      I can see how reducing the font size would allow more content to be squeezed into a fixed window size. I guess I’m asking the alternative question, rather than reduce the font to make it fit. Would it be possible to modify the pixel width of the window available in the quotes.html page. I realize this this potentially an issue of supporting the lowest screen resolution, but the fixed width appears arbitrary/limiting for my 1680×1050 desktop.

  14. ameridan said

    Believe it or not, several hours of tweaking went into my webpage and because of the iframe coding to accomodate the quotes.htm page and the stipulation I imposed on myself that the page be centered (rather than aligned to the left which is much easier), it is difficult to change. Sounds like you might be better off having another link to quotes.htm itself. My screen setting is 1600 x 1200 and I like the layout myself – play around with it if you like, but you’ll see what I mean about getting it to look right.

  15. ameridan said

    Added a suggestion to Step 6 that may help those not having success with the links to the python scripts:

    B1inUK offers this tip for WinVista and Win7 users: You may have to Right-click the htm file, select Properties and click Unblock at the bottom to allow the links to work.

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

