Fidelity brokerage OFX downloads


Once your Microsoft Money program is offline (online services are no longer active),  there may be no way to import your transactions and statements (as well as the update of your quote data on all of your investments) from your Fidelity brokerage account(s)  into Money other than via using Python scripts.   Unlike the websites of many financial institutions that at least let you initiate a download of your transactions in either QIF or OFX format, it has been reported that there is no such option at Fidelity.

In hopes of assisting others in the same boat as MikeV99, I am posting this setup data for  PocketSense  hoping that someone will verify that it worksAs I learn more regarding the outcome, I will update this Blog.   Mike has verified the correct settings and I have updated the blog accordingly. Thanks Mike 🙂   

<site>
    SiteName : FIDELITY
    AcctType : INVSTMT
    fiorg : fidelity.com
    url  :  https://ofx.fidelity.com/ftgw/OFX/clients/download
    fid  : 7776
    bankid :
    brokerid : fidelity.com
    appid :
    appver :
    mininterval :
</site>

45 Comments »

  1. Ken said

    I just found your blog and am praying I can make your Python scripts work for me. I’ve been using Money for over a decade and can’t imagine having to switch to something else. Fidelity has been my biggest concern because of the inability to initiate downloads from their website. I’m hoping your script will solve the problem. I have 2 questions: (1) is there another program besides Money that initiates downloads of OFX files? If so, is there some way to capture the OFX file and then import it into Money? (2) aside from commenting on existing posts is there some way to post questions to this blog? Thanks for the work you’re doing; it’s greatly appreciated.

    • ameridan said

      Ken,

      (1) is there another program besides Money that initiates downloads of OFX files?

      Actually, you don’t need any program to “initiate” the download. You can simply run the script. It is the OFX file handler program that then takes over after the file has been downloaded and sends the file into Money. If you had installed MoneyDance instead for instance, then that program would instead process the OFX file.

      If so, is there some way to capture the OFX file and then import it into Money?

      Not sure I understand this one, but perhaps my last answer addressed it.

      (2) aside from commenting on existing posts is there some way to post questions to this blog?

      Other than sending me an email with an item to post as a blog entry, no. I gather that you’re thinking more along the lines of a Forum site (Questions & Answers) rather than a Blog (resource) site with comment capabilities.

  2. Ken said

    Thanks for the quick reply but I think you misunderstood my question. I was just wondering if there is an alternative to running the Python scripts by using some other Money-like program to initiate all the OFX downloads from my financial institutions (I’ve got over 35 accounts in about 10 financial institutions) and then capturing the data stream and feeding into Money. I’m working on the Python scripts now, for the first time, and the test on a Chase credit card failed. Will have to figure out why as it appears all the parameters are correct.

    I didn’t see an email address or way to contact you directly which was the reason for my second question.

    Thanks.

  3. ameridan said

    Gotcha Ken. The scripts fake the OFX servers into thinking that Quicken is requesting the file, which is why we are then able to subsequently redirect them into Money. As far as I know, any program that processes OFX downloads (like Quicken, MoneyDance, Money, etc.) also disposes of them afterwards for security reasons, and because they serve no purpose after they have been processed.

    I know the MSN servers and Money did aid the user somewhat in establishing the Online update connections vs the manual trial & error setup with the scripts, but Bobby really has made improvements to his PocketSense scripts (and instructions) to make this as smooth as possible.

    Just setup one account at a time and you’ll eventually have them all setup. It is rewarding once you get them working, as you watch the downloads flow into Money and you are able to monitor their progress in the script window rather than all the activity taking place in the background.

  4. Ken said

    I’ve been working on getting Fidelity to work for the last couple hours. I had no trouble with Chase and Discover but no luck with Fidelity (I’ve also gotten AMEX to work but the account disappears after I test it). I notice that your FID of 7784 is different from the 7776 at OFX Home site. I’ve tried both but neither work for me. The OFX file in the XFR folder has the message “The request sent by the client was syntactically incorrect”. Here is the site entry I’m using:

    SiteName : FIDELITY
    AcctType : INVSTMT #brokerage account
    fiorg : FIDELITY
    fid : 7776
    url : https://ofxdi.diginsite.com/cmr/cmr.ofx
    bankid :
    brokerid : fidelity.com
    appid :
    appver :
    mininterval:

    I’ve tried all combinations of your 2 URLs and the 7776 and 7784 FIDs.
    Any ideas? Thanks.

  5. ameridan said

    Hopefully someone else chimes in that has got it working 🙂
    (I don’t have a Fidelity account)

    Moneydance Forum led me to believe that Fidelity’s server settings had changed, but anyways TRY SOME OTHER COMBINATIONS…

    SiteName : FIDELITY
    AcctType : INVSTMT #brokerage account
    fiorg : fidelity.com
    fid : 7776
    url : https://ofx.fidelity.com/ftgw/OFX/clients/download
    bankid :
    brokerid :
    appid : QWIN
    appver : 1800
    mininterval:

  6. Mike said

    I get Fidelity to send me ofx files using:

        SiteName  : FIDELITY
        AcctType  : INVSTMT
        fiorg  : fidelity.com
        url   :  https://ofx.fidelity.com/ftgw/OFX/clients/download
        fid   : 7776
        bankid  :
        brokerid : fidelity.com
        appid  :
        appver  :
        mininterval :

    However, I had to add each account I had with Fidelity with setup.py rather than just one getting them all. As a result I get an ofx file for each account. Any idea as to why?

    Also, the ofx file downloaded contains a bunch of things I did not expect (just showing the descriptions):

    Networth
    The net market value of all long and short positions in the account

    NAME>Margin Equity
    The margin market value less any margin debit balance

    Margin Equity Percentage
    Margin equity / market value of long and short positions

    Cash Debit Balance
    Cash Debit Balance

    Total Money Markets
    The total value of all money market positions in the cash account

    and so on. I do not see where these are used and would like to not have them in the ofx, but no biggy.

    I am able to send the ofx to Money Sunset, but am not sure I am seeing them do anything (since I have no transactions in the last 7 days).

    What is the purpose of

    appid : QWIN
    appver : 1800?

    I have indices set up but have had no luck in getting them updated. I did have to change their symbols since Fidelity used different ones. I wish I could figure out how to have Fidelity update them. More on this later.

  7. Mike said

    I think I have everything running now. Have to wait until after market close tomorrow to see how things update. I plan to run in parallel for a while to see what happens.

    Interesting point. I tried to create a Watch Account in Sunset and it tells me it cannot create an online account until Money is activated. I had to create a regular investment account. I guess if one is going to use that feature one should create the dummy account before end of activation?

    Thank you for your efforts!

  8. Mike said

    I just updated Fidelity. Everything runs as expected. Quotes working fine. However, my stock prices are showing prices as of 20100717 rather than 20100719. I ran the get at about 6:09 P.M. CT. My normal download from regular Money has the correct date (and matches the dates online). Any ideas?

    Mike

  9. Mike said

    PS -I just noticied that the stocks are up-to-date, it is the funds that lag in MoneySense but not online or regular Money.

  10. ameridan said

    Mike,

    Thanks for the feedback. I just got back from a 2-week vacation so it might take me a bit to digest it all (and the 50 voicemails and 463 emails 🙂 )

    But a couple of answers to get started with…

    However, I had to add each account I had with Fidelity with setup.py rather than just one getting them all. As a result I get an ofx file for each account. Any idea as to why?

    That is the the way the scripts are supposed to work, and that is how Money downloads the OFX files as well, although the setup takes place behind the scene.

    What is the purpose of

    appid : QWIN
    appver : 1800

    The scripts are setup to pretend that Quicken version 17 is requesting the OFX download. This was simply a suggested override to try (version 18) but apparently wasn’t necessary.

    I do not see where [all of the extra data] is used and would like to not have them in the ofx, but no biggy

    The file contents are controlled by Fidelity and any “extra” data has always been simply ignored by Money, as it is now (it’s possible that Quicken might take advantage of some of that data). The existing OFX files are automatically erased from your hard drive each time you run the getdata script.

    My suggestion is to rely on Fidelity for your quotes and only use Yahoo for quotes in a watch type “dummy” account for investments that you don’t get thru a brokerage offering OFX downloads.

    more to follow if I find other questions I haven’t answered…

  11. Mike said

    Thus far everything is running correctly. I get quotes from Fidelity for those securities held by Fidelity and quotes from Yahoo for the others. I did have to change the indices definitions from the Fidelity ones to the Yahoo ones. As the instructions say, I had to set up a dummy investment account (could not do that with a Watch account in the Sunset version for reasons stated previously). I download everything else directly from the institution’s web site (Discover, Chase, Citibank, other banks …) without any issues. I want to go through the end of the month distributions before I am ready to switch to the Sunset version permanently.

    Thank you for your help.

    • Steve said

      Hi Mike,

      I am struggling to OFX import Fidelity accounts held in the UK. Can you please confirm that your working account is held outside the UK? I think that might be my problem – Fidelity UK might still be using quill pens!

      I assume you are not importing individual Fidelity fund prices via Yahoo.

      Steve

  12. Ken said

    Mike, thanks for figuring this out. I’m currently in the process of moving but as soon as I get settled I’ll check out your settings and see if they work for me. If so I’m looking forward to many more years of using MS Money. I really appreciate everyone’s effort to make it possible to continue using Money after next January.

    Ken

  13. Mike said

    I am in the process of end of month updates. With the exception of an incorrect transaction date in Money, both Money databases are staying in sync. I downloaded transactions on the 31st. The transactions in the ofx files had the correct transaction date (20100730). However, those dates were entered in Money as 20100729 (1 day earlier). The transaction dates in the online version of the money database has the correct dates. I went through and manually corrected the dates. Can I do something to have the investment transactions entered correctly?

    Thanks

    • Mike said

      I located this post which may explain why the transaction date is 1 day off:

      Fidelity uses

      20100730000000.000[-4:EDT]

      for the trade date. Notice the time is set to zero.

      This post explains why:

      http://www.cdnbusinessdirectory.com/microsoft-money/4177-my-stock-transaction-date-off-1-day

      One way this happens is if the broker sets the time field in the OFX
      download dates to zeros, or omits the code– which strangely
      defaults to zero=midnight. That corresponds to midnight. Now if the
      broker makes the timezone be set to eastern time, that transaction
      dated november 1 (implicitly midnight) EST, your computer set for
      PST will see that as 9 PST on October 23. I wish Money would not
      work that way, but it does. And the potential for this is defined in
      the OFX spec.

      The cure for this is for your broker to timestamp the transactions
      at 5 AM (or later). 7 AM EST corresponds to noon GMT. That would fix
      the problem for *any* timezone. But for you, any time after 3am
      would be sufficient. Not for the Hawaiians tho. You get the idea.

      The workaround is to set your computer timezone to GMT or the
      timezone of your broker while doing the download and processing. I
      would suggest you think of that as more of a diagnostic to prove the
      concept. Then see if you can get your broker to behave. If you would
      like to cite the OFX spec, that is easy enough.

      Anyway to fudge the script to fix this?

  14. ameridan said

    Mike,

    I was going to reply that the GMT time stamp was why a day was getting subtracted. Actually, if you report this on Bobby’s PocketSense site, he can probably whip up a “scrub” routine (as he did for Discover transactions) that would add 12 hours (noon instead of midnite) for you.

  15. Mike said

    I left a comment at the PocketSense site, but decided to give it a whirl myself.

    I wrote a script (and included the call in getofx) using his scrubber script as an example and modified it to change the Fidelity time from 000000 to 100000. I think that will be a large enough time change to push the time past midnight. I ran it and the DTTRADE date time changed so … I must wait until I have more transactions to completely verify it is working.

    Thanks.

  16. ameridan said

    Mike,

    That is what is so great about using Python! We can do the same thing that Microsoft was probably doing on their MSN servers. Fidelity is apparently not following the OFX “rules”, which state that the default time stamp should be 120000 ( not 000000 ) but we can’t really complain, as they could simply turn the service off. Also, we have to remember that the file is prepared for Quicken to process, and perhaps that program processes the data differently.

    I’d be happy to include your scrubber script in the blog text if you’d like to share it 🙂

  17. Ken said

    I’ve been out of touch for a while due to moving and having to concentrate on more pressing issues. Just wanted to let you know I’ve been able to get just about everything working, including all my Fidelity accounts. Just to have that up and running means I’ll be able to continue using Money once Microsoft’s servers go dark. I’ve now added all the obvious accounts to setup.py but I’m stumped on a few. Without having to sign up and pay Chase Bank I’ve been able to auto download my savings account transactions and Home Equity Line transactions into Money. In the OFX Home Forum I only see an entry for Chase credit cards. Anyone have a clue what the parameters should be for Chase Bank and Chase home equity line accounts? It’s not a big deal but it’d be great if I could add them in. I’ve tried using the Chase credit card entry with no luck.

    Even though I’m the quintessential end user and have no experience with Python, the scripts have worked perfectly and the Pocket Sense writeup was easy to follow. If more people were aware this all existed there’d be a ton of users.

    Thanks!! (I posted this on Pocket Sense as well).

  18. ameridan said

    Hi Ken,

    I’ll create another blog entry for Chase if you have luck with these settings:

    SiteName : CHASE
    AcctType : BASTMT
    fiorg : B1
    url : https://ofx.chase.com
    fid : 10898 (or also try 5811)
    bankid : (use routing #)
    brokerid :
    appid :
    appver :
    mininterval :

  19. Mike said

    I download my Chase credit card transaction directly from their web page. I am surprised that they do not provide that option for banking?

  20. Ken said

    Thanks Dan for the Chase Bank entry. I just tried it with my 2 checking accounts and home equity line and it worked perfectly. I used the 10898 fid; didn’t try 5811. One thing to note is I had to add 2 entries to the sites.dat file as the ABA numbers were different for the checking accounts and home equity line. Just out of curiosity how did you get the info for Chase?

    Mike, it isn’t that I couldn’t initiate the download from the Chase site it’s just that I’m lazy and was just trying to include these 3 accounts in my automated script.

  21. ameridan said

    Thanks for the feedback Ken. I’ll create a blog entry for Chase to help others. I got the data from the Moneydance OFX settings. (5811 was for Bank One)

  22. Chris said

    This is a great resource for us MS Money diehards. Thanks to everyone for all of your contributions!

    I’ve got the PocketSense scripts installed, and am able to download Chase credit card data correctly, so I know it’s working. I’m running into a couple of problems, though:

    1) I’m trying to use the Fidelity OFX info above to download my wife’s 401k info, but I’m not sure what to use for the Account/User name/Password settings for the account. Is it the same Username/Password info that I use to access the account on the Fidelity website, or a different format (SS# or something like that)?

    2) I’m also trying to download 401k data from Smith Barney (now ING), and I’m able to connect to my account using both Smith Barney and ING OFX servers – the OFX files show an INFO message of “SUCCESS”. However, there is no transaction data in the files, even though I’ve specified a mininterval of 30 days. Any idea why this isn’t working? I’m seeing this in a couple of accounts.

    Sorry for the long message, and thanks in advance for any help!
    Chris

    • Ken said

      I can help you with your first question, Chris. The account is your actual Fidelity account number. The User Name and Password are the same as the ones you use to log on to their website. You don’t need to use your SS# unless you never created a user name on their website.

      Hope this helps.

      Ken

    • Chris said

      I finally got this to work. The problem was that I needed to use different OFX server info because this is an employer-sponsored 401(k) account, not an investment account.

      Customer Service at Fidelity tipped me off that I needed to look for Fidelity NetBenefits, which uses this OFX info in PocketSense:

      SiteName : FIDELITY_NETBEN
      AcctType : INVSTMT #investment
      fiorg : nbofx.fidelity.com
      url : https://nbofx.fidelity.com/netbenefits/ofx/download
      fid : 8288
      bankid :
      brokerid : nbofx.fidelity.com
      appid :
      appver :
      mininterval:

      Using these settings, I was able to download transaction info using the same username and password in Pocketsense that I use on the Fidelity 401k.com site. I did not enter anything for an account number in Pocketsense.

  23. Mike said

    I have installed the new scrubber.py that includes an update to handle the Fidility DTTRADE time of midnight. Everything is going smoothly. Fact is, if end of month closings provide the same results as with the network enabled database, I may stop my parallel testing and use the non-network database only (no reason to wait until January if it is working).

    Pocketsense is wonderful. My kudos to all involved!!

    Mike

  24. ameridan said

    I agree – PocketSense is great!!! My Money online updates expired Saturday, but I don’t mind a bit as PocketSense has been all I’ve needed for a few months now. When Bobby comes out with his next version, I’ll have some more enhancements available (I’ve had them ready just waiting to see what he comes up with 🙂 )

    • Alan said

      Ameridan this entire concept is great and a lot of good work. The level of expertise needed to get the python scripts, especially the sites dat coding seems quite high. Is there a way to do a preconfigured GUI type of file so that drop downs for various banks/credit cards/brokers could be specified as each bug is worked out. This would make setup of the available to the none expert computer user. I would love to stay with Money but trying to input all the setup data for 15 accounts and debug it seems like it would be very difficut. Also editing the seup date py file, within notedpad or wordpad seems qujite difficult in that if you get one comma or “” out of place the entire file starts to hiccup.

      This is a great effort and people llike me would gladly pay a yearly fee if this could be perfected into a download that would not require programming skills to perfect.

      Thanks for the work you have done thus far

    • ameridan said

      I dived in head-first when PocketSense was first published, but looking back I think the best strategy would be to setup one account all the way through and then gradually add in the others after you’ve learned the intricasies. Bobby may be convinced to take PocketSense further one of these days, but it really isn’t that difficult (I say that even though I messed up the first day 🙂 )

      If those 15 accounts of yours are with 2 or 3 financial institutions, it really won’t be that hard.

  25. Alan said

    Ameridan,

    Thanks I will give it a try… couple of questions:

    Creating sites dat file….is is best to use wordpad, word?

    I have several accounts at the same bank that uses a pin any advice on how to how so setup one bank with several accounts at that bank? Also does it work with a bank that requires pin? 3 are checking accounts and one a credit card with same bank.

    Do you have a sample sites.dat file that has the start of the file after Roberts comments and shows how to set up three or four accounts in a row? I have seen the post of one or two but not one from start to end. Would be very helpful. If possible leave in a dummy account # and password to see where to position them is possible.

    Once this is done successfully does Money show on main accounts page last updated date and # of transactions to review the way the current online services function in Money did?

    Also do you try this initially on a duplicated mny file or do you create an additional dummy account on the current file to prevent file from being corrupted it initially I make mistakes?

    Thanks for your help
    Appreciate it

  26. Alan said

    Ameridan additional question

    Is there an ofx database where you can look up the fiorg and fid etc. Also does it show routing #

    Trying to find Harris Investors and Etrade (stocks)

    Again Thanks
    Alan

  27. ameridan said

    In the right column of this blog (under Ameridan’s Pages), I’ve included pages that I thought would serve as a reference resource. “Look up your OFX settings” @ https://microsoftmoneyoffline.wordpress.com/look-up-your-ofx-settings/ is one of those pages and lists all of the spots I go to when researching OFX data.

    Regarding the samples you mention, my best advice is to follow the nice instructions that Bobby has written for PocketSense – they are on his website.

  28. Mike said

    I ran an update today and the stock prices are failing without giving any indication as to why. I did the setup test and it aborts without any message. Anyone else having this problem?

  29. ameridan said

    If Dow Jones Industrial Average (^DJI) was one of your symbols, comment it out for now as Yahoo! seems to be rejecting this, even though it’s their own symbol and the web page for Dow Jones still shows that symbol.

    ( Looks like Mike discovered the answer himself and replied with the same answer before I had approved his comment. -Thanks Mike! )

    • John Karasch said

      That did the trick. Thanks for the heads up.

  30. Mike said

    Robert has released a beta that handles the problem with an error message rather than stopping. Also, one can use the .ca yahoo, also included with the beta, to get ^DJI.

    Mike

  31. Max said

    I’ve been attempting to change the date range for the data that is requested and provided by Fidelity using ofx.py. If I change the DTSTART value to be greater than the “31 days” hard-coded in the original version of the script to 180 days, Fidelity still only returns a maximum of 90 days worth of transactions. The dates of the transactions are for the previous 90 days from the current date.
    – – –
    This 90-day limitation seems to correspond to the allowed date ranges in the online CSV file requests for historical data, but in the online environment you can specify different “90 day” date ranges for CSV file downloads and actually receive the desired historical data. Changing the DTSTART in ofx.py has no effect on the data that’s included in the returned OFX file from Fidelity. It’s always on the most recent 90 day window…
    – – –
    Any ideas? Is Fidelity’s OFX capability set up to disregard the DTSTART parameter of the request possibly?

    • Ken said

      I’m pretty sure you’re limited to 90 days. I have multiple computers, one of which I hardly ever use. If I go more than 90 days without updating Money on that computer then when I do update I only get 90 days.

    • Ken said

      Also, as an aside, Fidelity Active Trader Pro software also has a 90 day limit. On the same, seldomly used computer ATP will give an actual message stating it can only download 90 days of data. Basically I think you’re screwed if you want more than 90 days. You’ll have to manually input anything older.

  32. Maybe you could make changes to the blog name Fidelity brokerage OFX downloads Microsoft Money Offline Weblog to something more suited for your blog post you make. I enjoyed the the writing withal.

  33. ameridan said

    Team Roster (Spam?) – What would you propose as a better Blog name?

    • Ken said

      I think he may be referring to the name of the thread rather than the blog. Since the comments on this thread haven’t been about Fidelity in some time maybe starting a new thread with a generic name would be better.

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

