Will QFX files dominate over OFX?


As Money gets closer to going OFFLINE, I can foresee some financial institutions dropping OFX (sometimes referred to as Microsoft Money format) downloads and only offering QFX downloads instead.

If this does occur, it should be very easy to adapt the scripts to also have the capability of downloading QFX files, and then “scrubbing” them by merely changing the extension to OFX, since everything in a QFX file is OFX compliant.   The  unique  “INTU.BID” tag’s value that Quicken uses to makes a connection back to Intuit (“call home”), and verify that the financial institution has licensed (PAID for annually) the right to import that file into Intuit’s software, isn’t of any consequence to Money.   By scrubbing the QFX file, it wouldn’t be necessary to register the QFX extension with Money’s Import Handler (which is an alternative fix though).

It is only Quicken, which is after all a proprietary application, that will not process plain vanilla OFX files; apps that can process plain vanilla OFX (like Money) can process QFX.   I only bring this up as I keep wondering what our financial institutions plan on changing as we get closer to the January OFFLINE cutoff, and what else we can do in preparation of any potential changes.

If you download QFX files from your financial institution’s website (that is the default choice on Bank of America’s Mastercard website now) , you can Save and then import them directly into Money [File->Import->Downloaded Statement…], but you may have to click on type: ALL FILES to see the file. You can skip the Save step and have the file import on it’s own by following the registry addition below.


Cal Learner has developed this registry fix that you could run, so that QFX files will behave just like OFX and will import into Money automatically:

Here is a 2-step way to create that registry file:

1. Open a new Notepad file, and paste the following lines between the ===delimiter lines=== below into the file.

==================begin QFX2OFX.reg========

REGEDIT4

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.qfx]
“Content Type”=”text/qfx”
@=”ofx.Document”

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.qfx\ofx.Document]

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.qfx\ofx.Document\ShellNew]

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\MIME\Database\Content Type\application/x-qfx]
“Extension”=”.qfx”

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\MIME\Database\Content Type\text/qfx]
“Extension”=”.qfx”

================end QFX2OFX.reg==========

2. Save the file as “QFX2OFX.reg” and Run.

-ameridan


[UPDATE fromPocketSense comments March 20, 2010 7:32 PM ]

Robert said…   Regarding the Money OFX and Quicken QIF files, I don’t think any changes will be necessary for scripted downloads.    The scripts currently default to “looking like” Quicken to the server (not Money), and the file extension of .ofx is created by the script… not the institution. 

8 Comments »

  1. Spurgeon Green said

    Thank you for the information above, it was just what I was looking for. I didn’t wanted to abandon Money for Quicken, since Bank of America stop supporting the ofx format. Being able to import the qfx file format into Money saved the day!!!

  2. ameridan said

    You’re welcome. Because I had done the registry change already, I hadn’t realized that BoA was only providing QFX anymore, until you brought it up. It imports exactly the same as the OFX download used to. I added the tag Bank of America QFX to this blog page to make it easier for others to find this page.

  3. Erick Gabriel said

    Hi,
    I downloaded my statement from BofA today and the download process has a message saying that Quicken 2010 is no longer supported, Quicken 2011 and new supported. I didn’t think anything of it. But when I went into Money to import the QFX file, I have the registry change above applied to Windows XP, it will not import now. It presents an Information window saying the file I attempted to import is either invalid or contains corrupt data. I tried downloading it again with the same results. I happen to have the file I downloaded on the 18th of Sept and that file processes fine. There are no entries to match up but it will run the file just not the new one from today.

    I opened both files in notepad and I cannot tell what is different between them. Hoping someone on here might have an idea what the problem is?

    Thanks,
    Erick

  4. ameridan said

    Erick,
    Regarding the Quicken 2011 message, see https://microsoftmoneyoffline.wordpress.com/appid-appver/ for details regarding the AppVer variable. The default is defined in control2.py and is overwritten if you have specified a value in your Bank of America data in sites.dat (make sure neither have 1800 defined).

    I too got the message on my most recent QFX download and I gave up and decided to stop using my BoA Mastercard and instead start using my new Citibank VISA, so we’ll have to investigate further to perhaps find a tag in the recent QFX file that Money doesn’t like. Try to really compare the two QFX files to perhaps find a culprit tag as Robert can easily add it to the scrubber routine once it is identified.

    [UPDATE] I just realized that you probably don’t have Bank of America defined in Pocketsense sites.dat if you manually invoke the download from the website like I do. I just did so today and everything worked properly, so I suspect the glitch was on their server instead. Since Citibank lets me download transactions via Pocketsense, I’m still going to use that credit card instead now.

  5. Erick Gabriel said

    Hi,

    Thank you for the reply. I use BofA for Checking, so giving up on that would be more difficult. I do a manual download of the statement transactions and then do an import. I haven’t looked into the Pocketsense thing. Not sure it would solve this from what I can tell. I will review the two files I have downloaded again. And see if I can find a tag in it. The review I did yesterday, the two files, again the one that works from 10 days ago, and the one downloaded yesterday look exactly alike other then the transactions within them. The top most portion looks the same and end section looks the same. Not sure what the difference is between QFX 2010 vs QFX 2011, if you follow me here?
    Reading your updated section, I will try downloading another statement today and see what happens, may be it was a glitch. We’ll see. If it works I will update this section for historical use.

    Thank you,
    Erick

  6. Erick Gabriel said

    I tried another download for today and it did not work. Got the same Information window about the file. I have reviewed the file today in comparison to the last one that worked and I cannot see a difference in the files. There is no reference to any App version or anything like that.
    I am reviewing the use of PocketSense to see if this will help with this issue.

    Thanks,
    Erick

  7. ameridan said

    Erick,

    Sorry for the confusion before. I now realize your direct downloads have nothing to do with Pocketsense. Pocketsense does however have a scrubber routine that removes the culprit tags from my Schwab downloads per my suggestion, and I found those same tags in more recent BoA QFX statements as I had suspected. By clicking on SAVE rather than OPEN and then manually editing the QFX file and removing the lines containing CORRECTACTION and CORRECTFITID – which Money doesn’t know what to do with, your QFX file should then work fine (SAVE after editing and then double-click the file).

    Enjoy…
    -Dan

    • Erick Gabriel said

      Thank you I will take a look into this… I appreciate the the help!

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

